Global Trading Network

NATA’s Place in the Network

NATA is Australia’s national accreditation body for laboratories, reference material producers and proficiency testing providers. NATA also accredits inspection bodies.

NATA is an ILAC MRA signatory for testing (ISO/IEC 17025 and ISO 15189), calibration (ISO/IEC 17025) and inspection (ISO/IEC 17020).

Support for NATA’s involvement in international activities is provided through the Support for Industry Service Organisations (SISO) program administered by the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science (DIIS).

ILAC and the ILAC Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA)

The International Laboratory Accreditation Co-operation (ILAC),  is the international organisation for accreditation bodies operating in accordance with ISO/IEC17011 and involved in the accreditation of conformity assessment bodies including testing, calibration and medical testing (pathology) laboratories, inspection bodies, proficiency testing providers and reference materials producers.

ILAC works in harmony with Regional Co-operations such as the Asia-Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Co-operation (APLAC)  and works closely with the International Accreditation Forum (IAF),  the international organisation for accreditation bodies accrediting certification bodies.

One of the primary roles of ILAC is to establish and maintain a mutual recognition arrangement (MRA) between member accreditation bodies, based on mutual evaluation and acceptance of each other’s accreditation systems.  Signatory status to the ILAC MRA is based on a comprehensive peer review process confirming an accreditation body’s compliance with ISO/IEC 17011 and relevant ILAC mandated requirements, and its capability to deliver technically sound accreditation to its accredited conformity assessment bodies.  The ILAC MRA therefore provides assurance of the integrity of the technical operations of accredited conformity assessment bodies.

Currently, the ‘ILAC Arrangement’ covers the following:

  • Testing laboratories (ISO/IEC17025)
  • Calibration laboratories (ISO/IEC17025)
  • Medical testing laboratories (ISO 15189)
  • Inspection bodies (ISO/IEC17020)

NATA is one of the 90 accreditation bodies that have signed the ILAC Arrangement.

NATA actively participates in the work of ILAC and of APLAC to ensure that Australia has a strong voice in these international forums.  Support for our work in international forums is provided through the Support for Industry Service Organisations (SISO) program administered by the Commonwealth Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

The Accredited CAB Combined ILAC MRA Mark

The Accredited CAB Combined ILAC MRA Mark can be used by laboratories and inspection bodies accredited by ILAC MRA signatories such as NATA.

Use of the Accredited CAB Combined ILAC MRA Mark is however dependent upon an application being made to NATA and the signing of the NATA Accredited CAB Combined ILAC MRA Mark Agreement. The Mark must be used as prescribed by NATA. Use of the NATA emblem, NATA endorsement and references to accreditation and the NATA Rules Fifth Schedule provide information on the requirements for the use of the Mark.

If you have any queries or wish to apply to use the Mark, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., General Manager Compliance and Governance.  An application form is only available on request.

NATA is Australia’s Designated Compliance Monitoring Authority for OECD GLP

NATA is designated by the Commonwealth government as Australia’s national compliance monitoring authority for Good Laboratory Practice (GLP), and represents Australia on the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Working Group for GLP. NATA’s GLP staff also participate in onsite evaluations of other national GLP compliance monitoring programs.

NATA is a Designated Authority for Sectoral Annexes to the EC-MRA

NATA is a Designating Authority for four of the six Sectoral Annexes to the European Community-Australia Government-to-Government Mutual Recognition Arrangement (EC-MRA) - electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), low voltage electrical equipment, machinery and pressure equipment.

The other two annexes (medical devices and pharmaceuticals-Good Manufacturing Practice) are designated by a separate body, the Australian Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA).

Further information:

View ILAC Publications

Subscribe to ILAC News

ILAC MRA Annual Report 2016