

Human Pathology Accreditation Advisory Committee

Summary of the 34th meeting - 31 October 2024

Opening & welcome	Welcome and introductory remarks from the Chair
Committee Membership	The Committee discussed the terms of appointment of current committee members which are due to expire on or before the next meeting.
	The following positions were actioned in 2023/24:
	Mr Neil Horton was re-appointed for a further 3 year period as the AIMS expert.
	Dr Andrew Dubowski was re-appointed for a further 3 year period as the HGSA expert.
	Ms Helen Stathopoulos was appointed for an initial 5 year period as the ANZSBT expert.
	Dr Michael Whiley was appointed for an initial 5 year period as the AACB expert
	Dr Ashwini Bennett was appointed for an initial 5 year period as the RCPA Haematology/Immunology expert
	A/Prof Min Qiu was appointed for an initial 5 year period as the RCPA Anatomical Pathology expert
	NATA wishes to extend thanks to Prof David Roxby, Dr Gary Koerbin, Dr Julie Burn and Dr Helen Wordsworth who left the Committee during this time.
Stakeholder engagement	The IANZ, TGA and The Commonwealth Department of Health and Aged Care provided an update on activities and future directions.
Discussion	The Committee strongly supported the continued use of ISO 15189 as part of the pathology accreditation criteria.
	The time for assessment closure and the number of laboratory submissions following assessment was discussed. NATA will focus on reducing these as there is inherent risk to NATA which increases the longer assessments remain open and the number of submissions required to closure.
	NATA is keen on receiving feedback post assessment both from the laboratory under assessment and also the technical assessors.
Next meeting	The next meeting will occur late 2025