World Sleep Day – March 17, 2023

Industry News March 10, 2023
NATA team

Each year, NATA proudly supports World Sleep Day. 

In 2012, Sleep Disorders Services (SDS) became NATA’s 19th accreditation program. 

In recognising the critical importance of sleep, and to ensure the highest level of competency and care, NATA adopted the Australasian Sleep Association (ASA) standard for SDS as well as the criteria for accreditation. 

The ASA standards are based on the well-known framework of ISO 15189, which has been interpreted for sleep services and is open to all types of sleep services and covers administrative support, clinical management services, diagnostic studies and treatment studies. 

The ASA is responsible for maintaining the Standard while NATA is responsible for the accreditation program. 

NATA’s SDS accreditation allows sleep service providers to demonstrate technical competence in all study types offered as well as quality measures that mitigate risk and promote on-going improvement. 

Since 2012, NATA has accredited more than 50 organisations representing more than 90 individual separate sites. 

Learn more about World Sleep Day or NATA accreditation