NATA Excellence Award 

Industry News February 6, 2024
NATA team

Nominations are now open for the NATA Excellence Award – a highly esteemed recognition intended to honour collective accomplishments and inspire others to pursue excellence in their areas of expertise. By granting this award, NATA aims to cultivate a community that prioritises innovation, collaboration, and the pursuit of high standards in accreditation, technical infrastructure, and scientific practices. 

Technical Infrastructure Excellence and Innovation  

This distinguished award acknowledges organisations that have demonstrated exceptional technical infrastructure excellence and innovation achievements, focusing on enhancing the quality and reliability of accredited processes and services. The recognition extends to contributions that have strengthened capabilities, increased efficiency, and elevated the overall technical framework. Emphasis is placed on activities that have made a significant positive impact within Australia, contributing to improvements in domestic industries, communities, and the broader scientific and technical landscape. 

Nomination must relate to one or more of these criteria: 

1. Quality and Reliability Enhancement:

  • Significant Contributions to Accreditation: Recognise activities that have notably enhanced the quality and reliability of accredited processes and services. 
  • Innovative Practices in Accreditation: Emphasise innovative approaches in accreditation processes, showcasing methodologies that surpass traditional practices. 
  • Continuous Improvement Culture: Demonstrate a commitment to fostering a culture of continuous improvement in technical infrastructure and accredited processes. 

2. Advancements in Accredited Activities: 

  • Strengthened Capabilities: Highlight advancements that have strengthened capabilities, showcasing improvements in precision, accuracy, and overall effectiveness. 
  • Innovative Methodologies: Recognise organisations for introducing innovative methodologies that set new standards in the industry. 
  • Efficiency Improvements: Demonstrate initiatives that have led to increased efficiency in processes. 

3. Positive Impact within Australia: 

  • Domestic Industries Improvement: Emphasise contributions that have made a significant positive impact within Australia, particularly activities that have improved domestic industries through technical infrastructure enhancements. 
  • Community Benefits: Showcase initiatives that have positively impacted local communities, emphasising tangible benefits resulting from advancements in technical infrastructure. 
  • Scientific and Technical Landscape Enhancement: Highlight contributions that have positively influenced Australia’s broader scientific and technical landscape. 

4. Achievements in Science: 

  • Innovations in Product/Technology Development: Acknowledge successful developments in products or technologies resulting from innovative scientific practices. 
  • Facility Practices: Recognise achievements in facility practices, focusing on innovations that have improved operational efficiency and scientific capabilities. 
  • Advancements in Testing Sciences: Highlight achievements in science, particularly in testing sciences, with evidence of pioneering approaches and improvements. 

Award Benefits:  

Three selected finalists will receive:  

  • a NATA Conference and Celebration Dinner registration for one representative so there is a representative from your organisation should you win. 

The NATA Excellence Award recipient receives: 

  • $1,000 cash prize 
  • $1,000 towards training with NATA-Education  
  • Promotion within NATA News 
  • NATA Excellence Engraved Award 

Eligibility and Nominations: 

  • Any current NATA member organisation can nominate. 
  • Only current NATA financial members are eligible.  
  • One nomination per member (organisation). 

Nomination Requirements:  

Nominations must include: 

  • Detailed project/product /technology development description 
  • Reference how your nomination meets the criteria 
  • Outcomes leading to improvements in the domestic market. 
  • Details of staff involved in the project. 
  • At least one supporting reference for the nomination. 
  • Organisational benefits and customers/community activity view  

Evaluation criteria:

An independent panel will assess applications based on:

  • Comprehensive Impact: Assess the overall impact of the organisation’s initiatives on accreditation, testing capabilities, and the broader scientific and technical landscape.
  • Innovation and Continuous Improvement: Evaluate the organisation’s commitment to innovation and a culture of continuous improvement in technical infrastructure.
  • Demonstrated Results: Examine tangible results, such as improvements in reliability, efficiency, positive impacts on domestic industries and communities, and advancements in scientific practices.
  • Positive Stakeholder Feedback: Consider positive feedback and recognition from technical infrastructure and accreditation stakeholders.
  • NATA accredited activity.
  • Current NATA membership.
  • Relevance to the period 2019-2024.
  • Applications of sufficient quality.

Nomination Process:

To nominate, visit the NATA nomination site to upload supporting information, including written details, media, and references. Keep the uploaded information
concise and relevant.

File size limits of 500mb
Submission format can be written or electronic formats. Video content is also accepted and encouraged.

Important Dates:

  • Applications close on April 26, 2024.
  • Finalists will be notified and announced by May 31, 2024.
  • The Award will be presented at the Accreditation Matters Celebration Dinner on June 25, 2024 in Sydney.

Contact Information:
For further queries, contact NATA at