NATA’s Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS)

Industry News April 11, 2022
NATA’s Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS)
NATA team

The Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS) was developed to ensure safety and quality standards for diagnostic imaging practices.  

Established in June 2007, it links mandatory accreditation to the payment of Medicare benefits for diagnostic imaging services listed in the Diagnostic Imaging Services Table (DIST). 

For reference, there are fifteen Practice Accreditation Standards for DIAS and NATA accreditation to all fifteen standards is known as ‘full suite’ accreditation, while accreditation to three of these Standards (standards 1.2, 1.3 and 1.4) is known as ‘entry level’ accreditation. 
First time practices can choose to be accredited against either the entry level Standards or the full suite of Standards.  


  • New practices choosing to be accredited against the entry level Standards have a period of two years to achieve accreditation against the full suite of Standards to maintain their accreditation. 
  • Practices awarded accreditation against the full suite of Standards enter the accreditation maintenance program, which requires re-accreditation every four years. 

NATA has been approved as an accreditor under DIAS by the Commonwealth Department of Health and has held this status since its introduction in 2007. 

Seeking DIAS accreditation through accreditation offers key advantages: 

  • The support of a nationally recognised accreditation body with extensive experience in the Australian healthcare industry 
  • A simple and streamlined online accreditation portal 
  • A team of dedicated professionals with a sound understanding of the needs of both diagnostic imaging practices and specialists providing imaging services 
  • A dedicated case manager to build a working knowledge of your practice, providing you with the support and resources that you need to understand the requirements of the scheme 

For additional information visit NATA’s DIAS accreditation.